Gray Williams

Specialises in: 

Fantasy and science fiction, speculative fiction, crime and thrillers.

Services offered: 

Three and six month mentoring, Mini, Midi and Mighty Manuscript Shakedowns 

About Gray: 

Gray Williams was born in Glasgow and raised in Southampton. He studied Creative Writing at Bath Spa University and has had short stories published in Abyss and Apex, Electric Spec and the Something Wicked 2013 anthology. He devours both crime thrillers and fantasy, so naturally wanted to combine the two in his writing. He now lives in East London with his wife (who fell in love with him after reading an early draft of one of his short stories), where he writes, works (very different) and always gets his haircut three weeks later than he should.

Gray says:

'My first novel, The End of the Line, is a supernatural thriller, published in ebook by Canelo and audio by Bolinda audio. My second book is due out in January 2020. I studied Creative Writing at Bath Spa University and, on top of my novel, have had many short stories published. I have worked in marketing departments in publishing for over twelve years, including Usborne and Orion Fiction. I have run Sunday Times bestselling campaigns for top authors including Linwood Barclay, Ian Rankin, Erica James, Anthony Horowitz and Keith Richards.

 

When I started looking for an agent, I sent The End of the Line to twenty-seven agents. Nineteen of them requested to see the full manuscript and five offered me representation, all of this happening in a span of three weeks. Another two were asking me to delay making a decision when I accepted representation from Juliet Mushens from Caskie Mushens (who also represents Jessie Burton and James Oswald among many, many others).' 

End of the Line  

Blurb: 

A race against time on a perilous journey through Siberia with a murderous demon, in this gritty fast-paced horror thriller.

 

 

Con-artist Amanda Coleman lives in a London rife with undercover magic. Abras, as they are known, can harness these illegal powers, but for Coleman – whose father was a powerful and abusive practitioner – magic is anathema.
 

When her criminal crew hire an Abra to help with their heists, they accidentally raise a dangerously violent demon. Now they must race across darkest Siberia to a remote stone circle to kill the creature, in this engrossingly tense and gripping adventure.
 

But as the demon’s power grows during their grisly chase, Coleman must fight to survive, facing demons both in chains and within herself.
 

This unique high-octane horror thriller is perfect for fans of Lauren Beukes and James Oswald.
 

 

Reviews: 

A sharply written supernatural thriller that takes no prisoners’ – RJ Barker, author of Age of Assassins

'Williams creates an original world of wonder and menace that leaves the reader guessing’ – No.1 Sunday Times bestselling author, Linwood Barclay
 

‘Williams is a writer to watch’ – Steve Cavanagh, Sunday Times bestselling author of Twisted


‘A dark and thrilling mix of fantasy and noir, brilliantly told. Williams is a confident and exciting new voice in the genre’ – Mason Cross, author of Richard & Judy Book Club pick The Samaritan
 

‘The End of the Line is driven by non-stop action, strange magic, and gritty noir banter – fun, in other words. Gray Williams has created a matinee double-feature of mixed genre mayhem that aims to please’ – Andrew Pyper, bestselling author of The Homecoming and The Demonologist
 

‘An exceptionally satisfying read, by turns twisted, tense and heart-breaking with a couple of extraordinary set pieces that still linger on. This is a remarkably assured debut, with the promise of more greatness to come’ – Mark Stay, author of The End of Magic

Read more about Gray's book End of the Line here >> 

More resources: 

Website: graywilliamsbooks.com

Twitter: @gray_books

E-newsletter sign up (comes with a free short story)

Read Gray's article for The Riff Raff on his approach to world building

© 2017 The Riff Raff  |  oi@the-riffraff.com  |  Read our PRIVACY policy

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It's easy.